Presidential Quiz

Posted by

This is my favorite trivia question of all time:

Can you name the 3 presidents that were elected in non-leap years?

Answers after the jump…

Not only does this question require some knowledge of history, but it also requires useless knowledge of how the calendar works.

Without further ado, here are the answers:

  • George Washington
  • Thomas Jefferson
  • William McKinley

George Washington was first elected in 1789 and took office immediately.

Thomas Jefferson and William McKinley were elected in 1800 and 1900, which, according to the rules of the calendar, are not leap years.

Common wrong answers: George Bush (he was elected in 2000, which many believe follow the same rules as other centuries, but millennia have a leap day). Gerald Ford (he wasn’t elected at all).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *